Music Review-Akoma – Revangels

1. Enticing Desire
2. Revangels (Feat. Liv Kristine)
3. Change Of Propensity
4. Mesopotamia
5. Hands Of Greed
6. Vira
7. Humanity
8. Heartless Deceiver
9. Bittersweet Memories (Bonus Track)

Tanya Bell – Vocals
Morten H. Bell – Guitars
Stefan Nielsen – Bass
Andreas Pedersen – Guitars
Rune Frisch – Drums

Review-Female fronted melodic metal with symphonic pieces and soprano vocal parts. Arrangements that will make you think of bands like Epica, Nightwish and Tarja. This band cannot be called a copy, they been around for such a long time. The album while this is their debut full length, they have a history with some EP’s. There is not one element of this cd that is original, but yet I still enjoyed the music. You have Liv Kristine who also drops by on the title track to hang with the band for a little bit. Quite the statement on a debut album. The sound of this album is clean. This band is very comfortable in their skin and does not care what the critics think or haters. They seem to be making music for their fans, and for people who are into this genre of metal. The vocals are very confident and at times very much the center of this musical journey. The band knows how to compliment her singing with such expertise and intensity when needed. The songs on this album are very good, but yet they are very forgettable as well. This band I feel needs something to set them apart from every other band in this genre. The formula of hot operatic singer and band playing inspired by every 90’s Prog band just is so played out. That being said, this is not a bad album. I did not hate the songs, I did not hate the musicianship. I was hoping that this cd had something to throw me off or change it up. This album seems to not want to lead the pack, but to follow. There is nothing wrong with that, but you would hope that the band would have wanted to set something loose to get people talking. This is a band that is need of going into a studio or live setting and finding their own way.

7 out of 10