Metal Review: Amorphis – An Evening With Friends at Huvila (2017)

Amorphis - An Evening With Friends at Huvila

Purchase Amorphis – An Evening With Friends at Huvila

Finnish melodic death metal legends Amorphis are back with their latest effort, An Evening With Friends at Huvila, a live set from the band recorded in Helsinki. The band played 2 1-hour sets at Huvila-teltta (Helsingin Juhlaviikot), Helsinki on August 27, 2016 with the second featuring Under the Red Cloud (read the Under the Red Cloud review), the band’s latest studio album, in its entirety.

This review is for the first set, which included 9 of the band’s carefully selected tracks. The set opens with 4 acoustic style tracks. The biggest surprise from the opening set was the second track, the title track from Far from the Sun. The band had not played the track in over 10 years, nor do they typically pull out any of the songs from that album as the and has vocally been unhappy about its outcome.

The acoustic set ends with “My Kantele,” one of the band’s best tracks, and the songs includes a jouhikko [traditional Finnish bowed lyre] solo by Pekko K├Ąppi.

Amorphis - An Evening With Friends at Huvila With FluteAfter the opening 4 tracks, the band brings out the heavy and treads into “Silver Bride” as well as “Sampo,” “Alone,” “The Wanderer” and “Her Alone,” which is the highlight of the entire album as it includes guest vocals from the one and Anneke van Giersbergen (ex-The Gathering, ex-Agua de Annique, current Vuur). The mix of Anneke’s vocals with Tomi Joutsen makes a creation of two of my favorite vocalists together on the same track. Wow is the first word that comes to my mind.

Amorphis still continues to dominate the Finnish metal scene and is starting to get a little more worldwide recognition, but in reality, the band deserves so much more.

Amorphis - An Evening With Friends at Huvila Live ShotAmorphis – An Evening With Friends at Huvila (2017) Tracklisting

1. Enigma
2. Far from the Sun
3. Silent Waters
4. My Kantele
5. Silver Bride
6. Sampo
7. Alone
8. The Wanderer
9. Her Alone (ft. Anneke van Giersbergen)