Anneke Van Giersbergen Launches New Band Vuur

Anneke Van Giersbergen - VuurEx-The Gathering vocalist Anneke Van Giersbergen has launched a new progressive metal band in Vuur. The band is set to record their debut album and features members from The Gentle Storm project, including drummer Ed Warby, bassist Johan Van Stratum, guitarist Ferry Duijsens, and singer Marcela Bovio. Guitarist Jord Otto is also in the band. These past few months, they have been busy writing and rehearsing songs for their debut album that will be recorded early next year and released in the fall of 2017 via InsideOut Music.

The name Vuur – translated from Dutch as “fire,” which can also be interpreted to mean “passion” or “drive” – was chosen as a moniker to represent Anneke’s metal side.

Vuur Line-up

Anneke van Giersbergen (ex-The Gathering) – lead vocals
Ed Warby (Hail of Bullets, Ayreon, ex-Gorefest) – drums
Jord Otto – guitars (My Propane, ex-ReVamp)
Ferry Duijsens – guitars
Johan van Stratum (Stream of Passion) – bass
Marcela Bovio (Stream of Passion) – vocals

An introduction to VUUR – Anneke van Giersbergen’s new band