Metal Review: Megadeth – Dystopia (2015)

Megadeth - Dystopia

Purchase Megadeth – Dystopia

Many a Megadeth fan was skeptical of the release of Megadeth’s latest opus, Dystopia simply for the chaos that the band has recently underwent with line-up changes. One thing that is a constant with Megadeth over the years is that the line-up of the band changes quite often. Every once in a while, they hold a line-up together for a few albums, but over time, Megadeth is one of the biggest metal bands that has endured so many line-up changes. There is something to be said about the correlation between a band’s success and a stagnant line-up, but Megadeth has seemingly overcame the odds quite often. Dave Mustaine may not be easy to get along with, but the man rights some wicked songs.

The band’s 15 studio album opens with “The Threat is Real,” a true ass-kicker and throwback of sorts to their early-era songs, such as something off of So Far, So Good, So What. The title track, “Dystopia,” is a kick-ass shredding riff assault that closes with a frenzy of riffs a la “Hangar 18.” “Bullet to the Brain” is a fun little track with some nice vocal melodies.

“Post American World” has a midsection of ominous riffs into some wicked good guitar licks which strengthens an already strong track. “Poisonous Shadows” is a powerful track that is outside of the scope of typical Megadeth fare for some of the song. The midsection is still pure Megadeth though.

At the end of the day, Dystopia is much stronger than the band’s recent works, but will never be confused with their early classics, nor should they. That was a different time when thrash metal was exploring naked through the wilderness and everything being brought out had the element of fresh air that is nearly impossible these days. That is not to say that Megadeth is not exploring new territory for them. It is just not something that no one else is doing. Of course, Dystopia is far better than most albums being released today. Dave Mustaine seems to be out for blood and redeems himself with the naysayers.

Megadeth’s Dystopia Lands At No. 3 On U.S. Chart

Megadeth – Dystopia Tracklisting

1. The Threat Is Real
2. Dystopia
3. Fatal Illusion
4. Death From Within
5. Bullet To The Brain
6. Post American World
7. Poisonous Shadows
8. Conquer Or Die
9. Lying In State
10. The Emperor
11. Foreign Policy