Metal Review: Hegemon – The Hierarch (2015)

Hegemon - The Hierarch

Purchase Hegemon – The Hierarch

French black metal band Hegemon is back with their fourth album, The Hierarch, the band’s first album in seven years. As expected, the band’s technical approach is still there and their layered sound is simply exquisite. Their sound is extremely atmospheric and entices the listener to take a trip to the land being described in their songs.

The opening track, “Hatred From the Core: Tempus Incognito”, is a strong piece that opens up the remainder of the album. The vocals complete the track with such a distinct sound. “Interpreting Signs For War: Aruspicine” adds yet another layer of sound to the band’s arsenal with a melodic aspect to their sound with the same amount of intensity to the track. While this is not the only track to utilize clean guitar hooks in its sound, it does use it more effectively than others.

At the end of the day, The Hierarch is just what I wanted out of the band and they did not let us down.

Hegemon – The Hierarch Track Listing

1. Hatred From the Core: Tempus Incognito
2. Interpreting Signs For War: Aruspicine
3. Elysean Expectations, Earthly Deceptions
4. Rays of Lie: There Will Be a Time You Will Give Up
5. Atomos: Seed Of The Quantic Gods
6. Renovatio Imperii
7. Credo Quia Absurdum
8. Hierarch: The Empire of Zero

Official Links


Hegemon – Credo Quia Absurdum