Metal Review: Magister Templi – Into Duat (2015)

Magister Templi - Into Duat

Purchase Magister Templi – Into Duat

Norway’s Magister Templi is back with their sophomore full-length release, Into Duat, and follow-up to 2013’s Lucifer Leviathan Logos, of which I was a huge fan. From a band that came from folk rock beginnings, it is very interesting to see where the band has landed with the doom style focusing on mythology and occult themes.

While the band is heavily inspired by its doom roots, the band ventures far from the typical sound that fans of bands such as Black Sabbath and Candlemass has become accustomed to. Magister Templi has formulated their doom strategy and plans to challenge its predefined concepts by including other aspects of metal into their sound. While there are still some heavy blues-laden riff work, the band does not put its entire focus on the power of the blues riff.

The band has taken its lyrical focus further away from Crowley’s philosophy of which they have written about in the last release and EP and put more of a focus on telling tales of Egyptian mythology.

The album opener, “Creation,” is a very nice song which sets the tone for the remainder of the album. The second track, “The Lord of the Morning,” takes the band more into a Mercyful Fate field with its speedy riffs and structure. “Osiris” is an odd track that I could not stand at first, but it is started to grow on me. It clocks in at about three and a half minutes, so it neither detracts or adds much to the album.

Overall, Magister Templi is still coming at us strong with some solid songwriting and vocals that match the music perfectly. The mood is set with Into Duat from the outset and keeps the same atmosphere throughout its run-time, but the album should have been better. From how good the band has been in the last three years, I expected a little more. That is not to say that this album is bad. I just expected more.

Into Duat Tracklisting

1. Creation
2. The Lord of the Morning
3. Osiris
4. Horus the Avenger
5. Anubis
6. Sobek
7. Slaying Apophis
8. Destruction

Label: Cruz del Sur Music

Official Links