Metal Review: Five Finger Death Punch – Got Your Six (2015)

Five Finger Death Punch - Got Your Six

Purchase Five Finger Death Punch – Got Your Six

Five Finger Death Punch is one of the most intense metal bands out there today. They seem to really by hitting their stride now and getting stronger with each release. The formula is simple. Blast the metal with strong, basic riffs and strong vocals that match the intensity of the riff work.

Recent turmoil seems to have been blown out of proportion as the band has recently had an infamous onstage meltdown and some recent published negative stories. With Got Your Six, the band is seemingly raising their collective middle finger to the naysayers and refuse to give up.

There recent releases of The Wrong Side of Heaven and the Righteous Side of Hell Parts 1 and 2 brought the band some much deserves attention and produced quite a few successful singles meaning that their follow-up would be heavily scrutinized. FFDP was up for the challenge and have released another very good album.

The album opens with the title track, “Got Your Six” and Five Finger Death Punch begins to pummel the listener from that point forward. “Jekyll and Hyde” is a song that we have all heard since it was released previous to the album’s release. The rhythm riff work behind the vocals is so tight and the chorus is a powerful piece that fits with the track.

“Wash it All Away” is simply an ass-kicker of a song that sounds like FFDP still brings the power. This track ends up being one of the more melodic pieces on the album. “Question Everything” is straight up brutal. It is melodic at points, but changes pace at a moment’s notice with a powerful chorus.

“Ain’t My Last Dance” is FFDP’s aggressive side at its best. Tracks like “Got Your Six,” “Wash it All Away” and “Hell to Pay” show that the band wants to make a statement with some of their lead sections. Songs like “No Sudden Movement” are the fast rockers that will become live staples.

At the end of the day, FFDP did exactly what I expected. They released a diverse album filled with their normal rockers and a few ballads. They have their radio friendly hits and they have the tracks that are meant to listen to when you need to let off some steam. The band is exceptional musically and vocalist Ivan Moody still has one of the best voices in metal.

Five Finger Death Punch – Got Your Six Tracklisting

1. Got Your Six
2. Jekyll and Hyde
3. Wash it All Away
4. Ain’t My Last Dance
5. My Nemesis
6. No Sudden Movement
7. Question Everything
8. Hell to Pay
9. Digging My Own Grave
10. Meet My Maker
11. Boots and Blood
12. You’re Not My Kind
13. This is My War
14. I Apologize
15. Jekyll and Hyde (voicemail) (hidden track)

Five Finger Death Punch Line-up

Zoltan Bathory – rhythm guitar
Jeremy Spencer – drums
Ivan Moody – lead vocals
Jason Hook – lead guitar, backing vocals
Chris Kael – bass, backing vocals