Metal Review: Eschaton: Sentinel Apocalypse (2015)

Eschaton: Sentinel Apocalypse

Purchase Eschaton: Sentinel Apocalypse

Founded in 2007 in Providence, Rhode Island, technical death metal camp Eschaton has unleashed their furious opus of technical prowess in their debut album Sentinel Apocalypse. This collection of 11 jaw-dropping tracks consisting of maddening signature changes and earth shattering drum lines mixed with killer guitar leads and riffs.

Eschaton, who shares their name with the theological term referring to the state of the world during the post historic era of God’s overt apocalyptic reign immediately preceding the end of the world, makes their music as epic as their name. The songs are centered around the music, especially the guitar leads and solos and the ridiculous drumming, the latter of which is the highlight of the album for me. Drummer Darren Cesca is a veteran of the genre with stints in Arsis, Vile, Incinerate among others, so he knows his way around the drum kit very well. The drum work is still astounding though.

While Eschaton is very progressive in their sound, they still are chock full of grooving sequences with a classic edge, but the band revolves around the mayhem that they cause with each track. There is no denying that this is technical death metal as extreme as anything else that you have heard. There is a razor sharp edge to their sound and their precision is frightening.

Sentinel Apocalypse is a must add for technical death metal fans as your ears will bleed from the chaos and you will end up banging your head straight through a concrete wall while listening. It is good to know that some bands are still challenging everything we know about music.

Sentinel Apocalypse Tracklisting

1. Obligatory Conviction
2. Behold The Nexus
3. Immortal Mutilation
4. Achromatic Reign
5. Animus
6. Falsified Existence
7. Intergalactic Annihilation
8. The Beast Is Embedded
9. The Beast Is Awakened
10. Cognitive Hatred
11. Sentinel Apocalypse

Eschaton Line-up

Vocals: Jason Viteri
Joshua Berry: Guitars
Jared Berry: Guitars
Pat Pattison: Bass
Darren Cesca: Drums