Metal Review: Finsterforst: Mach Dich Frei (2015)

Finsterforst: Mach Dich Frei

Purchase Finsterforst: Mach Dich Frei

Here we are in 2015 and I am reviewing the first album with a 2015 release date. This is sort of an epic moment. To celebrate this epic moment, it only makes sense to review an epic release, and with 2015 comes German outfit Finsterforst’s fourth full-length release entitled “Mach Dich Frei” out via Napalm Records on January 23, 2015.

Finsterforst is all over the place in a good way with sounds and melodies that can be included in a multitude of sub-genres of metal, and that is only in one song. The band is progressive in nature and likes to call themselves a Black Forest metal band hailing from Black Forest in Germany.

The band has released another 3 full-length releases in addition to a couple of EPs in their eleven year run, but I think that “Mach Dich Frei” has the staying power that will bring the band more widespread recognition. The album is heavy as hell throughout its 9 tracks, although a few of the tracks are simply interludes between their epic tracks. The closing track given their namesake has a running time of nearly 24 minutes.

The title track, Mach Dich Frei!, has a great sense about it with killer guitar riffs and the varying vocals between clean and dirty from vocalists Johannes Joseph and Oliver Berlin respectively. Berlin is just down and dirty with his crushing vocals with Joseph offering a more melodic release at times. While the vocal exchanges play a huge part of their music, the guitar riffs are what make me want to replay every track over and over. The groove and vocals to Zeit für Hass is simply astounding and becomes another one of the many highlights of the album.

Overall, Finsterforst’s “Mach Dich Frei” is a great introduction to the band for many and should be a real eye opener for fans.

Finsterforst: Mach Dich Frei Rating

7.5 Stars (7.5 / 10)

Mach Dich Frei Tracklisting

1. Abfahrt
2. Schicksals End’
3. Zeit für Hass
4. Im Auge des Sturms
5. Mach Dich Frei!
6. Mann gegen Mensch
7. Reise zum…
8. Finsterforst

Finsterforst Line-up

Oliver Berlin – Vocals
Johannes Joseph – Accordion & Clean Vocals
Tobias Weinreich – Bass
Cornelius “Wombo” Heck – Drums
Sebastian “AlleyJazz” Scherrer – Keyboards
David Schuldis – Rhythm Guitars
Simon Schillinger – Lead,Rhythm Guitars & Acoustic Guitars