Metal Review: Cannibal Corpse: A Skeletal Domain (2014)

Cannibal Corpse: A Skeletal Domain

Purchase Cannibal Corpse: A Skeletal Domain

Florida death metal legends Cannibal Corpse now have 13 full-length studio albums on their belt with their upcoming release of “A Skeletal Domain” on September 16, 2014 via Metal Blade Records. As you expect from the band’s die-hard fans, they are salivating for new music from one of the originators of death metal, and from the sounds of “A Skeletal Domain,” they are still showing the young guns how it’s done.

“A Skeletal Domain” provides the listener with 12 aurally destructive pieces, each of which seem to get heavier as the album progresses. The opener, High Velocity Impact Spatter, is a brutal death metal beast showing that the band is prepared to issue more blast beats on this release. The guitar riffs are smooth and endless. With Sadistic Embodiment, the sounds gets crunchier, but the speed does not dissipate. Kill Or Become is a piece that sticks with you as you listen to the album more, and you will listen to this album over and over. The title track, as is Funeral Cremation, maintains a slower pace, but with just as much intensity as the blastbeats keep coming.

Of course, no Cannibal Corpse album review would be done without commenting on the album art, and the cover for “A Skeletal Domain” is eerie and dark with so much details and layers.

Overall, Cannibal Corpse is back as strong as ever with “A Skeletal Domain” and they prove that they are not ready to be kicked off the top of that mountain just yet.

Cannibal Corpse: A Skeletal Domain Rating

8 Stars (8 / 10)

A Skeletal Domain Tracklisting

01. High Velocity Impact Spatter
02. Sadistic Embodiment
03. Kill Or Become
04. A Skeletal Domain
05. Headlong Into Carnage
06. The Murderer’s Pact
07. Funeral Cremation
08. Icepick Lobotomy
09. Vector Of Cruelty
10. Bloodstained Cement
11. Asphyxiate To Resuscitate
12. Hollowed Bodies