Metal Review: Vainaja: Kadotetut (2014)

Vainaja: Kadotetut

Purchase Vainaja: Kadotetut

Finland’s Vainaja (Finnish for Deceased) has released their debut full-length release, “Kadotetut,” via Svart Records and it is a good one. Finland has been known to be a mecca of good music for some time now, but more recently, they are home to quite a few doom metal bands. We can now add Vainaja to that list.

The album opens with Lankeemus, which completely throws the listener off path as to what the album will sound like as it sounds like it will end up being more of an ambient album, but once the riffs come in, you see what you are in for.

The album’s vocals are dark and gritty and about as evil as they come. The down-tuned guitar work of The Cantor is deep and meaty as is The Preacherman’s bass. The Gravedigger’s drums hold everything together.

“Kadotetut” is song after song of an evil doom metal concept album recounting the tale of a Finnish 19th century occultist group which spread chaos across the countryside. The lyrical content is deep and dark and the soundtrack behind it fits the mood perfectly.

Overall, “Kadotetut” is one hell of a debut album, which leaves us wondering what else this band will bring us in the coming years.

Vainaja: Kadotetut Rating

8 Stars (8 / 10)

Kadotetut Tracklisting

01. Lankeemus
02. Väärän Ristin Valtakunta
03. Kahleiden Kantaja
04. Valon Lapset
05. Henkikaste
06. Verinen Lähde
07. Risti Kädessäni
08. Viimeinen Tuomio
09. Kadotettu

Vainaja Line-up

The Gravedigger: Drums, Vocals
The Cantor: Guitars, Vocals
The Preacherman: Vocals, Bass

Label: Svart Records