Metal Review: Primal Fear: Delivering the Black (2014)

Primal Fear: Delivering the Black

Purchase Primal Fear: Delivering the Black

Germany’s Primal Fear is one of those bands that I just do not get. They have a couple of really good albums, and one amazing album in “Seven Seals,” but for the most part, they are about as generic as metal bands can get. The great thing about genres like classic metal and power metal, both of which Primal Fear fall into, is that it allows for mediocre bands to flounder around for a long time. How bad can decent classic metal really be? A few bands excel at it, but for the most part, most bands are average at it, but that is good enough for a casual listening. You will just never dig very deep into one of these albums unless it is really doing something different.

Primal Fear’s latest album, “Delivering the Black,” ends up being a nice addition to the power metal veterans.

Rebel Faction is a very powerful song with intense lead and backing vocals and sound effects along with a nice, melodic solo to fill the middle. When Death Comes Knocking is a decent song, but gets quite repetitive at times, so I cannot imagine that this track will have much longevity with me. Alive & on Fire makes use of multiple vocal tracks and wicked guitar riffs to make one of the best rockers on the album. The title track, Delivering the Black, is another nice rocker as well. Road to Asylum is a nice song with some thrash-style riff work and song structure. One Night in December has a wicked opening leading into a tempo slow down and a more melodic riff. While I am not a fan of the extensive use of keys in this track, the rest of the song is pretty strong.

As you would expect with Primal Fear, vocalist Ralf Scheepers, who started his career with Gamma Ray and was one of the finalists for the vacant spot left with Judas Priest after Rob Halford’s departure, is as strong as ever and shows that he still has those massive vocal chops.

The guitar tandem of Magnus Karlsson and Alex Beyrodt are top-tier musicians who play off of each other so well during lead sections and harmony work.

The main issue that I have with a bunch of the songs on the album is how generic they can get lyrically. I am a huge fan of good lyrics. Good riffs are fine, but it is hard to overcome bad lyrics. Ask Flotsam & Jetsam how well they are doing.

Overall, Primal Fear has put together a decent little album, but it is not one of their best. It is enjoyable, but not something with a ton of replay value.

Primal Fear: Delivering the Black Rating

5.5 Stars (5.5 / 10)

Delivering the Black Tracklisting

1. King For a Day
2. Rebel Faction
3. When Death Comes Knocking
4. Alive & on Fire
5. Delivering the Black
6. Road to Asylum
7. One Night in December
8. Never Pray For Justice
9. Born With a Broken Heart
10. Innocent Man (Bonus Track)
11. Inseminoid
12. Man Without a Shadow (Bonus Track)
13. When Death Comes Knocking (Single Edit)
14. Born With a Broken Heart (Edit Version)