Metal Review: Hellyeah: Blood For Blood (2014)

Hellyeah: Blood For Blood

Purchase Hellyeah: Blood For Blood

Groove Metal supergroup Hellyeah is back with their fourth album, “Blood For Blood,” since their inception in 2006. The band is made up of Chad Gray (Mudvayne) on vocals, Vinnie Paul (Pantera/Damageplan) on drums and Tom Maxwell (Nothingface) on guitars. Longtime members Greg Tribbett and Bob Zilla have departed for this release. Kyle Sanders steps in for bass and Christian Brady has stepped in as the second guitarist for touring purposes only.

It is not clear on how much impact the departure of two of their members had on this album, but one thing that is clear is that “Blood For Blood” is surely out for blood. The intensity on this release is unrivaled in any of their previous releases yet they are still offering their melodic moments on tracks such as Moth, Hush and Black December.

The album opens with Sangre por Sangre (Blood for Blood), which has been out there for a while. The opener is a strong track with intense guitar lines and Vinnie’s Paul’s signature drum patterns holding things down. From that point, the album continues with power and strength with tracks Demons in the Dirt and Soul Killer before slowing things down for Moth. Other standouts on the album are DMF, Hush and Black December. The bonus track, Feast or Famine, is also a fun little rocker.

Hellyeah seems to be on another level for this album with much more anger and fuel leading the charge. Tom Maxwell’s guitars are crunching riff after riff with Kyle Sanders being a welcome addition to the band. Of course, Vinnie Paul’s drums add such a nice groove to the tracks. Paul Gray is also one of the most underrated vocalists out there with his range. His gritty vocals are a nice match for his clean parts. His style may be often repeated, but rarely ever duplicated.

Overall, Hellyeah seems to be getting stronger with each album and “Blood For Blood” is a must-add to everyone’s collection.

Hellyeah: Blood For Blood Rating

7.5 Stars (7.5 / 10)

Blood For Blood Tracklisting

1. Sangre por Sangre (Blood for Blood) 4:34
2. Demons in the Dirt 3:53
3. Soul Killer 3:34
4. Moth 4:51
5. Cross to Bier (Cradle of Bones) 3:34
6. DMF 3:50
7. Gift 3:48
8. Hush 3:53
9. Say When 2:55
10. Black December 4:33
11. Feast or Famine ( Bonus Track ) 3:21
12. Hush ( Acoustic ) ( Bonus Track ) 3:53
Total length: 46:39

Hellyeah Line-up

Chad Gray – Vocals
Vinnie Paul – Drums
Tom Maxwell – Guitars
Kyle Sanders – Bass

Label: Eleven Seven Music