Metal Review: Ormgard: Ormblot (Re-issue) (2014)

Ormgard OrmblotHaving been around for 12 years, you would think that Sweden’s Ormgard would have left more of an impressions on the black metal community, but truth be told, it was not until their 2011 release of the “Ormblot” demo that the band started to get some attention. This year though, Forever Plagued Records has re-issued the “Ormblot” demo with the inclusion of some added tracks.

For a Swedish black metal band, Ormgard does not create music like countrymates Dark Funeral, Marduk or Watain. They employ more of an atmospheric black metal sound to their music. You hear hints of Finnish black metal, pagan metal and a few other glimpses into other genres on “Ormblot.” The band’s higher pitched vocals are reminiscent of bands that hail from Finland more than Sweden, so those comparisons will always be there.

What truly makes “Ormblot” succeed is the atmosphere that the album sets. Tracks like Hugasd and Ohelgat Blot are layered and dense in arrangement and bring a chill to your spine as if you were walking through an icy forest with the band themselves. Not too many black metal releases can say that.

Ormgard does not shy away from the use of keyboards either as evident in the instrumental track Dödskröning, which offers a brief respite for the listener before full sending them down into the lowest depths of hell with Av Svartkonst & Fördärv.

Overall, “Ormblot” is a must-own for black metal fans. While most will already be familiar with this demo, this re-issue offers plenty to get excited about.

Ormgard: Ormblot Rating:

7.5 Stars (7.5 / 10)

Ormblot Tracklisting:

1. Ormblot
2. Hugsad
3. Ohelgat Blot
4. Dödskröning
5. Av Svartkonst & Fördärv
6. Elivågor