Music Review-Steel Panther-All You Can Eat


01. Pussywhipped
02. Party Like Tomorrow Is The End Of The World
03. Gloryhole
04. Bukkake Tears
05. Gangbang At The Old Folks Home
06. Ten Strikes You’re Out
07. The Burden Of Being Wonderful
08. F@#king My Heart In The Ass
09. BVS
10. You’re Beautiful When You Don’t Talk
11. If I Was The King
12. She’s On The Rag

Review-Steel Panther is back with their 3rd record. If you loved the humor of Feel The Steel and the catchiness of the follow-up of Balls Out, this record will be right up your alley. While I felt the music in the last two years suffered from the identity crisis Steel Panther seems to be having with their last record and also this record. You cannot be taken serious and still write this fun but yet offensive lyrics. I felt that was the death-nail for The Bloodhound Gang when they wanted to try and show people they were growing, when fans wanted them to stay the same. This is a band who is supposed to be mocking glam metal not trying to revive it. Steel Panther make no mistake are very talented and really can create some amazing music, but I just wish this band would make up its mind, to be taken seriously or to live the gimmick. This being said, the cd is not a bad cd it is just going to be a misunderstood one for some fans. You see the song titles and hear the choruses, but most of these songs try so hard to be so catchy that it does not feel like they are making fun of the genre but trying to fit in. They have an anthem Party like Tomorrow is the End of the World which I really felt while it was catchy, just felt like they are trying hard to be more mainstream and get crossover success. This cd gives the band a chance to flex all its muscles and they all really shine on the majority of this record. Michael Starr really has progressed since his short term in LA Guns. This record he will remind some of maybe a cross of Axl Rose meets Firehouse, I just prefer the Axl Rose moments a little more. Satchel gets his chance to shine also on some of the guitar solos on this cd which really come across very well; this is a guitarist who has really come into his own since his days in Fight. I did like the majority of the lyrics; they were very creative and had an odd humor to them. I felt there was a few filler tracks as well that had this obscene name and promised fun and did not deliver. I am still a fan of the band but this cd I just am lost as to what this band is trying to be. I would love a more raw approach like the debut not the commercial crap like the follow up, this cd I guess could be seen as a look into the past and present of this band.

7 out of 10