Metal Review: Hatriot: Dawn of the New Centurion (2014)

Hatriot Dawn of the New Centurion

Purchase Hatriot Dawn of the New Centurion

San Francisco Bay Area thrash metal juggernaut Hatriot, featuring former Exodus and Legacy (pre-Testament) frontman Steve “Zetro” Souza, is back with their sophomore effort, “Dawn of the New Centurion.” With its recent release date of February 21, 2014, after an initial delay, through Massacre Records, was one of my most highly anticipated album releases of the year.

Hatriot has dealt with a few lineup changes and also features two of Souza’a sons, Nicholas and Cody Souza on drums and bass respectively. Through Souza’a own admission, the band took a somewhat different approach with “Dawn of the New Centurion” because of the youth-injected line-up. The band makes more use of blastbeats and a heavier, almost death metal approach to some of the songs.

The album opens with an evil, reality-based introduction into From My Cold Dead Hands and the stage is set for the thrash madness that ensues. The Fear Within, which is the first single from the album, is another thrash anthem that you would expect from the likes of a band fronted by Souza. Superkillafragsadisticactsaresoatrocious is a song that only Souza could write and sing. As silly as it sounds, it is quite catchy.

The standout track still remains Silence in the House of the Lord though. It is littered with thrash riffs and some solid lead fills through its entire run. World Funeral utilizes thrash with some death metal tendencies.

Overall, Hatriot did not disappoint, which is something that I cannot say for most bands these days. The difference could be that the band’s youth keeps them fresh. Whatever the cause it, I am very pleased with this release. You need to add this to your collection.

Dawn of the New Centurion Tracklisting:
01. From My Cold Dead Hands
02. Your Worst Enemy
03. The Fear Within
04. Honor the Rise and Fall
05. Superkillafragsadisticactsaresoatrocious
06. Silence in the House of the Lord
07. World Funeral
08. Dawn of the New Centurion
09. Consolation For the Insane