Metal Review: Godhunter: City of Dust (2014)

Godhunter City of Dust

Purchase Godhunter City of Dust

Tucson, Arizona sludge metal newcomers Godhunter will be releasing their debut LP, “City of Dust” on February 18, 2014 on CD and digital download. They will bring their demonic sludgy riffs to the masses with this release and fans of bands like EyeHateGod and Kyuss will love this album.

“City of Dust” opens with Despite All, which begins the slow heart-pounding churn of riffs will does not relent until the completion of the album. Tracks like Rats in the Walls further solidifies that Godhunter is here to do some massive damage as they aurally attack us with their slow, methodically paced songs.

Songs like Brushfires up the pace a little, but then songs like Snake Oil Dealer and deathly in their methodic approach to the track. The band knows how to write a heavy riff and gets what riff-heavy metal is all about.

The monstrous vocals are perfectly suited for the instruments with their raspy tone, but the stars of the show are the guitars on this one.

City of Dust Track Listing:
1. Despite All
2. Rats in the Walls
3. Brushfires
4. Snake Oil Dealer
5. Shooting Down the Sun
6. Palace of Thorn
7. City of Dust
8. Plague Widow