Metal Review: Wolves in the Throne Room – BBC Sessions 2011 Anno Domini (2013)

Wolves in the Throne Room BBC Sessions 2011 Anno Domini

Purchase Wolves in the Throne Room BBC Sessions 2011 Anno Domini

Brothers Aaron and Nathan Weaver formed Wolves in the Throne Room about 10 years ago, and since that time, they have become an underground sensation to extreme metal fans. The band utilizes black metal tropes efficiently to weave musical tales of nature and beauty and death and misfortune alike in a way that few other bands can do it. In my eyes, their only competition in the space is the mighty Agalloch.

Recorded at BBC’s Maida Vale studios, London, England, on Friday, October 21, 2011, “BBC Sessions 2011 Anno Domini” is the band’s latest effort where they recorded two live tracks. The BBC is not normally a forum where you would expect to hear a band like Wolves in the Throne Room, but I am happy that they will get the chance of more exposure with their latest release.

With only two songs, with each being over 10:00 minutes though, “BBC Sessions 2011 Anno Domini” offers two live versions of songs from 2011’s “Celestial Lineage” opus, which was nothing short of magnificent. The album opens with the ethereal track Prayer of Transformation where the band shows their unique blend of talents on their respective instruments. Vocalist Nathan Weaver is spot on with his raspy, guttural vocal, but the magic is always with the brothers’ tandem playing and the atmosphere that they can set with their art.

The second track, Thuja Magus Imperium, is another ethereal song, but a little more on the heavy side. This live version is intense from beginning to end with the closing quarter of the song being so atmospheric.

BBC and black metal is not something that normally gets put together, but it would be nice to start seeing a little more of this from other bands. Another thing that makes the release of “BBC Sessions 2011 Anno Domini” special is that it is being released on vinyl through Southern Lord, so make sure that you add this one to your collection.

BBC Sessions 2011 Anno Domini Track Listing:
01. Prayer of Transformation
02. Thuja Magus Imperium

Wolves In The Throne Room ine-up:
Aaron Weaver – Drums, Guitars, Synth
Nathan Weaver – Guitars, Vocals