Metal Review: Kataklysm: Waiting for the End to Come (2013)

Kataklysm Waiting for the End to Come

Purchase Kataklysm Waiting for the End to Come

With over 20 years of history and ten records under their belts, Montreal, Quebec, Canada’s Kataklysm is one of the most respected bands in the death metal landscape. Their ruthless aggression is one of the major factors in their success in this metal genre overloaded with talented bands, but yet, Kataklysm still remains one of the elite members of the death metal genre.

With the release of “Waiting for the End to Come,” released October 29, 2013 on Nuclear Blast Records, Kataklysm proves that they still have the aggressive fury and fire to continue their trek. Even the opening track, aptly title Fire shows the many facets of the bands sound from a melodic guitar opening calling back to days of old from bands like Testament, which rumbles straight into Fire and the album never lets up from there.

Vocalist Maurizio Iacono is a busy man these days. In addition to his commitment to Kataklysm, he is also the mastermind behind the Roman history-themed death metal band Ex Deo (of which Kataklysm guitarist Jean-François Dagenais and bassist Stéphane Barbe are also members, as is former Katalysm drummer Max Duhamel), who released the album “Caligvla” last year. Despite this side project, Iacono has been vehement on Kataklysm being his top priority.

Kataklyzm has always been known for their solid drum work, and that seemed in jeopardy when drummer Max Duhamel has to exit the band due to injury. In stepped Oli Beaudoin and the band has not seemed to miss a beat (literally). The drums are as ferocious as ever.

Throughout the album, Kataklyzm incorporates more of their typical staples including sound slips to introduce songs and the level of ferocity that they are known so well for. The first four tracks are intensity at their finest utilizing death metal staples and anything else that the band can pull from their armory.

Like Animals is a brutal song with so many great grooves offered up by the band. It proves to be some of the best riffs that Jean-François Dagenais has laid down. Beginning with Under Lawless Skies, the band does have a shift in sound utilizing more melodic elements in these songs while still maintaining the frentic pace set forth in the opening of the album. Under Lawless Skies incorporates some nice guitar riffs and even a black metal feel to the main verses.

Kataklysm has always been a band that has fans fans divided because of their shift in sound from the early days of a more technical, brutal side into the more recent melodic moments that they have mixed in. With “Waiting for the End to Come,” the band has a return to form of sorts with the brutal side coming full force, but with plenty of melodic moments as well. While I do not expect that this will unify the fans and the haters, “Waiting for the End to Come” is surely one hell of an album.

Waiting for the End to Come Track Listing:
1. Fire
2. If I Was God… I’d Burn It All
3. Like Animals
4. Kill the Elite
5. Under Lawless Skies
6. Dead & Buried
7. The Darkest Days of Slumber
8. Real Blood, Real Scars
9. The Promise
10. Empire of Dirt
11. Elevate

Kataklysm Line-up:
St̩phane Barbe РBass
Jean-Fran̤ois Dagenais РGuitars
Maurizio Iacono – Vocals
Olivier Beaudoin – Drums