Metal Review: Necrophobic: Womb of Lilithu (2013)

Necrophobic Womb of Lilithu

Purchase Necrophobic Womb of Lilithu

Swedish blackened death metal band Necrophobic is back four years after the release of “Death to All.” “Womb of Lilithu” marks the band’s seventh full-length release and what seems like a new found energy littered throughout the entire release. Along with the release though, the band’s vocalist, Tobias SidegÃ¥rd, has been sentenced to 18 months in prison on charges of domestic abuse and rightfully asked to leave the band. I do not condone what he has done in any way and am just focusing on the music itself.

The album opens with a brief intro, the title track Womb of Lilithu, and which is a haunting track offering and almost playful backdrop for what is to come. Once the band blasts into Splendour Nigri Solis, the blackened death metal glory is upon us with one of the best tracks on the album.

The next track, Astaroth, is yet another track where the band brings that classic Slayer sound to it. Between the raspy vocals and the crunching guitar riffs, you will be able to make that comparison a lot during the album’s run time.

Furfur is the highlight of the album with its infectious grooves. The verse sections are legendary. The track also goes through a lead solo integrated into tempo shifts and heads straight back into the verses. I LOVE THIS SONG.

The additions of Robert Sennebäck (Dismember, Unleashed) and Fredrik Folkare (Unleashed) has stimulated the band musically and that is evident in tracks like Black Night Raven with its intricate guitar lines and patterns splashed throughout.

Necrophobic has always been the little band that always kept pushing further, but never received the respect and adulation of black/death metal fans. Sweden’s pride have always been bands like Dark Funeral and Unleashed when it came to bands of this ilk. 2009’s “Death to All” was a welcome surprise and gave me hopes of having two successful albums in a row, which is something that the band has yet to string together. With “Womb of Lilithu,” Necrophobic seems like they could finally going to gather some steam, but unfortunately, the album may get overshadowed from the wrongdoings of Tobias SidegÃ¥rd.

Womb of Lilithu Track Listing:
01. Womb of Lilithu
02. Splendour Nigri Solis
03. Astaroth
04. Furfur
05. Black Night Raven
06. The Necromancer
07. Marquis Phenex
08. Asmodee
09. Marchosias
10. Matanbuchus
11. Paimon
12. Opium Black
13. Infinite Infernalis
14. Amdusias

Necrophobic Line-up:
Joakim Sterner – Drums
Tobias Sideg̴rd РVocals
Alexander Friberg – Bass
Robert Sennebäck – Guitar
Fredrik Folkare – Guitar