Metal Review: Endstille: Kapitulation 2013 (2013)

Endstille Kapitulation 2013

Purchase Endstille Kapitulation 2013

Germany’s black metal legion, Endstille, is back at it again with their latest full-length effort, “Kapitulation 2013,” out on Season of Mist. With 7 albums under their belt already, and their 13 year run, Endstille is showing no sign of letting up. The album opens with the furious Aborted and offers no apology and they run over you with everything that they have.

The few melodic breaks that we get are well placed and perfectly executed, but for the most part, the album is full speed ahead. The sharpness of the band’s battery, consisting of bassist Cruor and drummer Mayhemic Destructor, is spot on and allows the guitar tandem of L. Wachtfels and B. Killed to set the black metal mood on the release.

There are a few variances to the album. The Sodom cover, Blasphemer, is an interesting song as it takes a thrash song from one of thrash metal’s more prominent bands and puts their black metal spin on it.

Overall, “Kapitulation 2013” is not perfect, but Endstille does put together one of their finer efforts. They are trying to re-invent black metal, which is a genre not meant to be re-invented. They make a noble attempt, but as far as the album goes, it makes a nice listen for black metal fans. Black metal purists may end up hating this one based on principle alone though.

Kapitulation 2013 Track Listing:
1. Aborted
2. The Refined Nation
3. Reich an Jugend
4. Sick Heil
5. Blasphemer (Sodom cover)
6. Monotonous 2013
7. Nostalgia
8. Stalin Note
9. KDF 511
10. Endstille (Abschied)

Endstille Line-up:
Zingultus – Vocals
Mayhemic Destructor – Drums
Cruor – Bass
L. Wachtfels – Guitar
B. Killed – Guitar

Record Label: Season of Mist