Metal Review: Satyricon: Satyricon (2013)

Satyricon Satyricon

Purchase Satyricon Satyricon

Norway is the epicenter known as the birthplace of the second wave of black metal being home to bands such as Mayhem, Burzum, Emperor and Dimmu Borgir as well as well as many other bands. For my money, the pride and joy or Norway should be Satyricon as they are an intense band that has stayed the course and offered so much in their careers. That is not to knock any of the aforementioned bands, but Satyricon has always been very strong in my opinion.

First and foremost, what the heck took so long for this album to come out. After having released 7 albums in 14 years, it was very hard to have to wait 5 years for this one. Of course, that is just the greedy me talking though.

To talk about Satyricon’s self titled release though, we have to talk about its sound. Gone are the days of Satyricon employing that dark, gritty, raw sound of yesteryear, and to honest, I am fine with that. Do we really need another “Dark Medieval Times” again? As much as I love the classics, I am far happier that Satyricon has taken some risks and refused to play it safe rewriting their classic albums over and over again. Too many bands have fallen into this trap. Satyricon has always brought it from their heart and played what they wanted to play. Whether the fans love it or hate it, they have to deal with it. Kudos to Satyr and Frost for sticking to their guns on that.

“Satyricon” opens with the instrumental Voice of Shadows, which employs a sound that has become synonymous with the band for years now. The riffs are simple and to the point. The opening leads straight into Tro Og kraft, which offers plenty of groove-style riffs and some great rhythm work. After this track, you realize how much you mi

Our World, It Rumbles Tonight is a song that most fans have already heard, and every time I listen to it, I like it more. I was not a fan of it the first time around, but it keeps growing on me.

Nocturnal Flare is all atmosphere with Satyr shouting his raspy vocals throughout the track. The rhythm riffs are standard Satyricon fare that we have all heard at this point. There is always a nice groove behind the verses. There is even a decent melodic solo thrown in for good measure.

Overall, “Satyricon” is very strong with my main beef being that they seem to have played it a little safer on this release. That is really not a major complaint though because the album simply rocks with so many standouts. In a few years, I have no idea where “Satyricon” will stand where I rank the band’s discography, but my best guess now is that it will be somewhere in the middle.

Satyricon Track Listing:
1. Voice of Shadows
2. Tro Og kraft
3. Our World, It Rumbles Tonight
4. Nocturnal Flare
5. Phoenix
6. Walker Upon The Wind
7. Nekrohaven
8. Ageless Northern Spirit
9. The Infinity of Time and Space
10. Natt

Satyricon Line-up:
Satyr – Vocals, Guitars, Keyboards, Bass
Frost – Drums

Record Label:
Roadrunner Records