Metal Review: Mystic Prophecy: Killhammer (2013)

Mystic Prophecy Killhammer

Purchase Mystic Prophecy Killhammer

Germany’s power metal outfit Mystic Prophecy has released their eighth full-length release, “Killhammer.” When they release an album, you can be certain that it will have plenty of thrash metal riffs splattered within. After all, Germany knows a little something about thrash.

I will first get my nitpicking out of the way. Mystic Prophecy has the tendency to be a pretty vanilla metal band from its originality in lyrics and song titles. Two of the song titles on this release alone share song titles with more popular songs – Children of the Damned and Set the World on Fire. I have never quite understood why bands do this. Of course, the lyrics are always pretty cliche as well.

If you look beyond these pet peeves of mine, and you really should, “Killhammer” is a pretty solid release with plenty to offer. The opening title track, Killhammer, is a hammer indeed crashing into the album. Armies of Hell is a pretty catchy track with a screamer of a chorus that has you singing along with it on the first listen.

Of course, the cliche and monotonous moments arise in songs like Kill the Beast and To Hell and Back, but even those tracks have some nice guitar playing from Constantine and Markus Pohl. One of the better tracks on the album is Hate Black with its nice riff work and varied vocal work by Roberto Dimitri Liapakis.

Overall, Mystic Prophecy has put together one of their better releases in “Killhammer.” With the huge mistake in covering Ozzy Osbourne’s Crazy Train aside, which is simply horrible in comparison to the original, there is plenty to be happy with on this album.

Killhammer Track Listing:
01. Killhammer (4:17)
02. Armies of Hell (4:24)
03. To Hell and Back (4:24)
04. Kill the Beast (3:25)
05. Hate Black (4:54)
06. Children of the Damned (4:42)
07. 300 in Blood (4:22)
08. Angels of Fire (4:07)
09. Warriors of the Northern Seas (4:21)
10. Set the World on Fire (3:48)
11. Crazy Train (Ozzy Osbourne Cover) (5:20)

Mystic Prophecy Line-up:
Roberto Dimitri Liapakis – Vocals
Markus Pohl – Guitars
Connie “Connor” Andreszka – Bass
Constantine – Guitars
Tyronne Silva – Drums