Metal Review: Cursed 13: Triumf (2013)

Cursed 13 Triumf

Purchase Cursed 13 Triumf

Sweden’s black metal band Cursed 13’sTriumf” has been released via Carnal Records and it contains 11 tracked spanning the period of 1998 – 2013. Word has it that several of the tracks found on “Triumf” were never meant to see the light of day, so I, for one, am very happy that we got to listen to some of these dark, evil tracks.

Bassist/vocalist and founding member Heljarmadr has brought Cursed 13 from what once was his solo project to a full-fledged band, and one known to bring the pain. Through the name change of Cursed 666 to Cursed 13, the ferocity of the tracks has not changed. Even the lyrical themes of darkness and chaos has changed very little throughout the years.

From songs like the eerie, daunting slow tempo of Seductress to the more up-tempo controlled chaos of songs like När Marorna Kallar, Cursed 13 shows themselves to be in control of their instruments and their emotions throughout all of the tracks. The aforementioned Seductress is an evil song that slow thumps its way through your chest until you beg for submission.

Overall, “Triumf” is a black metal release that needs to be added to your collection. If you are a fan of similar bands like Satyricon, you will surely enjoy the hell out of Cursed 13.

Triumf Track Listing:
1. No Return
2. Dead and Gone
3. Death N’ Roll
4. I Love Cyanide
5. Aska Till Aska
6. Frälst Av Eld
7. När Marorna Kallar
8. Seductress
9. Requiem
10. Agitator
11. Vrede