Metal Review: Carach Angren | Lammendam (2008)

Carach Angren Lammendam

Purchase Carach Angren Lammendam

Netherlands black metal band Carach Angren is a band that follows one theme/story per album. Most of the stories do revolve around the supernatural. Lammendam’s theme is about the legend of “de Lammendam,” a saga of a loose lady before the time of the French Revolution and her ghost’s process of forming as well as the aftermath of these events.

Carach Angren is more of a symphonic black metal band with all of the extreme elements that you would expect from bands of this ilk and many effective classical orchestrations. They sound like Dimmu Borgir on steroids although I am not a huge fan of Dimmu Borgir’s later works.

I want to put this out there right now. The Carriage Wheel Murder is an astounding song. The riffs are spot on and the melodic elements add a horrific beauty to the song. The heavier rhythm riffs break the song up so nice, that every time I listen to the album, I have to play that track a few times.

Corpse in a Nebulous Creek is another track that is flawless in its combination of styles. Once again, the horrific beauty of the symphonic elements mix nicely with the heavy guitar riffs and it may be the song where Seregor’s vocals stick out the most. The ending of the song is symphonic metal at its finest.

Overall, there are plenty of elements of “Lammendam” that are a pleasure to hear on this release. The production is sharp and accurate and the musicianship can rival most bands out there.

Lammendam Track Listing:
01. Het Spook Van De Leiffartshof
02. A Strange Presence Near the Woods
03. Haunting Echoes From the Seventeenth Century
04. Phobic Shadows and Moonlit Meadows
05. Hexed Melting Flesh
06. The Carriage Wheel Murder
07. Corpse in a Nebulous Creek
08. Invisible Physic Entity
09. Heretic Poltergeist Phenomena
10. La Malediction De La Dame Blanche
11. There Was No Light [bonus]
12. After Death Premises [bonus]
13. Yonder Realm Photography [bonus]

Carach Angren Line-up:
Seregor – Guitars, Vocals
Namtar – Drums, Percussion
Ardek – Orchestration, Keyboards