Metal Review: All Pigs Must Die | Nothing Violates This Nature (2013)

All Pigs Must Die Nothing Violates This Nature

Purchase All Pigs Must Die Nothing Violates This Nature

Hardcore/metal supergroup All Pigs Must Die, featuring members of Converge, The Hope Conspiracy and Bloodhorse, are back upon us with their sophomore effort, “Nothing Violates This Nature,” set to drop July 23, 2013 through Southern Lord. This is the follow-up to 2011’s “God is War,” which was much revered in the community. As always is the case, the sophomore jinx is something that has caught many a band, but All Pigs Must Die will not fall into that trap. If anything, “Nothing Violates This Nature” is a step up from their debut effort.

Songs like Primitive Fear have such a nice groove and contains some gigantic riffs that you do not often relate to hardcore bands. The same could be said for Bloodlines, which is more of the same thing, but with a filthier edge to it. On the opposite side of things are songs like Of Suffering, which have a nice, almost-ambient feel to it. Make not mistake though, it is heavy. If you are looking for more of that hardcore feel, songs like Aqim Siege will be right up your alley.

Overall, All Pigs Must Die is up to some good things these days, and that means a lot when I say it because hardcore is not really my thing. Their constant straddling between hardcore and metal makes this a very nice release.

Nothing Violates This Nature Track Listing:
1. Chaos Arise
2. Silencer
3. Primitive Fear
4. Bloodlines
5. Of Suffering
6. Holy Plague
7. Aqim Siege
8. Sacred Nothing
9. Faith Eater
10. Articles Of Human Weakness