Music Review-Tristania – Darkest White


01. Number
02. Darkest White
03. Himmelfal
04. Requiem
05. Diagnosis
06. Scarling
07. Night on Earth
08. Cathedral
09. Lavender
10. Cypher
11. Arteries

Tristania is:

Mariangela Demurtas – Vocals
Kjetil Nordhus – Vocals
Anders Høyvik Hidle – Guitars & vocals
Ole Vistnes – Bass & backing vocals
Gyri Losnegaard – Guitars
Einar Moen – Keyboaards
Tarald Lie – Drums

Review-Tristania’s 7th record is quite easily their best music to date. It is quite clear from the get go this is a band who have grown up a lot and also traded in their commercial attempts with a cd that is so diverse and striking, just jaw dropping captivating. If people thought with Rubicon this band was in another band’s shadow, wait till you see how wrong you truly are. This cd sounds like an invite to a place that is dark, eerie and truly so seductive that you seem to want to jump in head first. The first thing you notice that has changed drastically is the bond the band has with their sound, the music comes across as a combination of goth and metal that creates such a sound that really has no limits or bounds. This cd shows a strength and passion that really was missing with this band in past releases. The sad part of this is that songs Lavender and Night on Earth just feel out of place and are clearly signs that while they are taking more chances with this cd, that they did not forget their past and what some fans like me were wishing they would have forgot, and that is the bland songs that just go nowhere. Especially when you compare those two tracks to the monster opening track that really showcases that the band is really a force to be reckoned with. I mean, this cd just comes right out of the gate swinging and taking no prisoners, and the next tracks are nothing short of amazing as well. But, when it gets to track 7 and 8 the holes start to show, and as good as the final two tracks they lost so much momentum with the two tracks. This cd is such a huge improvement over their past releases, and if you fell off the bandwagon, this cd will make you want to jump back on. This is a band that has grown up and really has improved on their dark and gothic sound, with their vocalists complimenting the rest of the band and each other. The guitar riffing and catchy choruses and lyrics are going to garner some new fans hopefully, and this band deserves a lot of people to check this cd out.

8 out of 10