Music Review-Huntress-Starbound Beast


Jill Janus (vocals), Blake Meahl (lead guitar), Anthony Crocamo (lead guitar), Ian Alden (bass), Carl Wierzbicky (drums)

Track Listing:
1. Enter the Exosphere
2. Blood Sisters
3. I Want To Fuck You To Death
4. Destroy Your Life
5. Starbound Beast
6. Zenith
7. Oracle
8. Receiver
9. Spectra Spectral
10. Alpha Tauri

Review-Huntress’s follow up to Spell Eater does not feel like a sophomore release as much as it feels like a continuation of what they did last cd. As much as I loved Spell Eater, I feel a little letdown by the follow up. The problem is not so much their style which is more power metal than heavy or classical, but that they almost created the same record and did not really try to experiment or at least throw us some kind of curve ball to get fans thinking they are growing or that they have grown. Jill Janus is an amazing vocalist with an amazing range that can be called Dawn Crosby if she fronted Stratovarius. This band I feel with the instrumentation on this cd are all background setting to showcase the vocals, which for the most part Jill has some really intense power and an unbelievable range, she is rough and harsh then she gets in this sweet poppy formula that seems to hide the fact that her delivery lacks in emotion this time out. I hate to be hard on this cd, I mean Spell Eater was in my top 5 cds of the year last year, and lord knows I am a huge fan of this band but this cd is so imbalanced. This is a band that just sounds like they hold back more than they really let loose with. The construction of the songs on this cd are so elementary that you would feel this band had a book to follow, ok we go guitar, vocals, then drums and more vocals with guitars to riff away in the background. Ok, that is done, let’s repeat. I love the fact that Jill focuses so much on her performance so much so that it takes away from the sound of the band, but I would love to see this band break out of their shell and get some more creativity. While Alpha Tauri does try to throw something unique in it with her vocals, I just wish they would have done it more than for a bit part in the closing track. What a huge letdown this was. If you own Spell Eater, you own this as well.

4 out of 10