Music Review-Butcher Babies-Goliath


01 – “I Smell A Massacre“
02 – “Magnolia Blvd.“
03 – “C8H18 (Gasoline)“
04 – “Grim Sleeper“
05 – “Goliath“
06 – “In Denial“
07 – “Give Me Reason“
08 – “The Mirror Never Lies“
09 – “Dead Poet“
10 – “The Deathsurround“
11 – “Axe Wound“

frontwomen Carla Harvey and Heidi Shephard, guitarist Henry Flury, bassist Jason Klein and drummer Chris Warner


Review-This is easily one of the most anticipated releases of the summer. The Butcher Babies have a huge buzz and some incredible word of mouth right now. And before you think that both vocalists Heidi and Carla are both ex playboy models may have something to do with it, do not discount what they deliver on this monster of a debut record. A while back they released an ep. that was a warning of what is upcoming. This band crosses a weird balance of heavy metal and what I call bounce metal, the music that is meant for everyone to jump around. There is no way you can listen to this cd and not be tempted to turn it up to ten and just get into it. I know people are going to compare them to Otep or Slipknot, and those comparisons are fair for the most part but there is no much more to this band. They seem to utilize the double vocals and they have some of the most catchy and insane guitar riffs that complement the vocals. This whole cd is right in your face and is so fucking catchy that when you go to the next song it is almost unfair because you have the last song in your brain. I found myself listening to this cd three straight times and not wanting to stop. For people who look at the pictures of this band and assume they know what they are going to get, will be sadly mistaken. This band is tight, catchy and knows how to make the most of their sound and really has created a metal cd that I can call the record to beat in 2013. This cd is a monster and has really raised the bar for not only female metal singers, but metal bands in general. Believe the hype, this is a must buy cd. The Butcher Babies are for real, and metal will never be the same again.

10 out of 10