Trouble Will Return With New Album In July

Trouble The Distortion Field

Purchase Trouble The Distortion Field

Chicago doom metal legends Trouble will return this year with their first album since “Simple Mind Condition” released in 2007. The album entitled “The Distortion Field” contains 12 tracks and will be released by FRW Music in North America on July 16, 2013 and in Europe on July 26, 2013. “The Distortion Field” will also feature new lead vocalist Kyle Thomas of Exhorder and Floodgate.

Veteran music producer Bill Metoyer is once again working with the band, having previously done so on “The Skull” and “Trouble.”

Commenting on new vocalist Kyle Thomas, Trouble founder and guitarist Rick Wartell says: “Kyle is one of the most impressive singers I’ve ever heard, and by far the most extraordinary singer I’ve ever had the pleasure of working with. He’s got incredible range, incredible power, and an incredible knowledge of Trouble, as he’s been a fan for 20-something years. We’ve known him forever, and he innately understands what Trouble is about. He’s like the perfect guy to come in and do this job. It’s awesome.”

Wartell talks about the album: “Musically, I think this album is a true Trouble record. In the early days, we used to just write what we felt and didn’t really care about what anyone said. We just wrote heavy riffs and played our music our way. But outside influences can kind of get a hold of you and start telling you what to do. When we were writing this album, the thinking was, we don’t care what anybody thinks. We’re going to write what we write. So this is basically a return to our roots, while combining some reflections of our band’s long history as well. With the two different music writers, Bruce and myself, we have a slight variation in our writing; Bruce has more of a ’70s groove to his writing, and I’m more the old school doomy metal thing. And when you put it together, you get Trouble.”

The Distortion Field Track Listing:
01. Sink Or Swim
02. Paranoid Conspiracy
03. Glass Of Lies
04. The Grey Chill Of Autumn
05. When The Sky Comes Down
06. Butterflies
07. Your Reflections
08. Have I Told You
09. The Apple From The Snake
10. Hunters Of Doom
11. Sucker
12. The Broken Have Spoken