Music Review: Tom Keifer | The Way Life Goes (2013)

Tom Keifer The Way Life Goes

Purchase Tom Keifer The Way Life Goes

Best known as being the frontman for the extremely underrated Cinderella, Tom Keifer has stripped to his bare bones and released an album that is all about the music that he wants to write. I am a huge fan of Cinderella and recognize Keifer’s amazing ability to write songs. I just wish that more people saw them for more than their glam metal days, which was basically just for their debut album, “Night Songs.” By the time that “Long Cold Winter” came out, they were well on their way to establishing themselves as a hard rock powerhouse. Then came “Heartbreak Station” and its ton of MTV airplay. After that point, they released another album that most people do not even realize exists. Surgeries happened for Keifer and other various things and the band basically stopped writing new material.

With the release of “The Way Life Goes,” we see Kiefer back to his roots and writing some very fine music. Songs like Solid Ground and Cold Day in Hell are a throwback to Cinderella’s “Heartbreak Station” days, which their blues-infused rock lines throughout. As always, the choruses are catchy and make you want to bellow out your raspy vocals to keep tune with the band.

Of course, this is Tom Keifer, so we have our share of power ballads, which is fine with me, but I am more into the blues-rock tracks, of which there are an abundance of on this album.

I will admit that I had high hopes for “The Way Life Goes,” but I was also careful about what I was expecting because it had been so long since we have seen anything original from Keifer. Thankfully, this is exactly what I expected.

The Way Life Goes Track Listing:
1. Solid Ground
2. A Different Light
3. It’s Not Enough
4. Cold Day in Hell
5. Thick and Thin
6. Ask Me Yesterday
7. Fools Paradise
8. The Flower Song
9. Mood Elevator
10. Welcome to my Mind
11. You Showed Me
12. Ain’t That a Bitch
13. The Way Life Goes
14. Babylon

Tom Keifer Line-up:
Tom Keifer – vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, slide guitar, keyboard
Greg Morrow – drums, percussion
Michael Rhodes – bass guitar
Tony Harrell – piano, B3 organ, Wurlitzer, Clavinet