Music Review-Arkona-Decade of Glory live


Track Listing:
CD 1
1. Az’
2. Arkaim
3. Ot Serdca K Nebu
4. Goi, Rode, Goi!
5. Leshiy
6. Zakliatie
7. Marena
8. Liki Bessmertnykh Bogov
9. Nevidal
10. Kolo Navi
11. Slav’sja, Rus’
12. Kupala i Kostroma
13. Odna
14. Sva
15. Kupalets
16. Katitsja Kolo
CD 2
1. Kolyada
2. Skvoz’ Tuman Vekov
3. Maslenitsa
4. V Tsepiakh Drevney Tainy
5. Slovo
6. Bol’no mne
7. Pamiat
8. Arkona
9. Po Syroi Zemle
10. Oj, Pechal’-Toska
11. Yarilo
12. Stenka na Stenku
13. Vyjdu Ja Na Voljushku
14. Rus’
15. Zov Predkov

Masha “Scream” – voice
Sergei “Lazar” – guitar
Ruslan “Kniaz” – bass
Vlad “Artist” – drums
Vladimir “Volk” – wind ethnic instruments

Review- Arkona is one of those bands that I do not understand a word that comes out of their lead singer’s mouth, but I am still finding myself listening to it. If you are new to Arkona they have released since their start in 2002, about 7 cds and a few dvds. This is an odd mix of viking and pagan folk metal. The songs are sung in Russian and they have so much energy, passion and true heart that you cannot deny this band. I am normally not a fan of live records, but holy shit does this record deliver. This concert sounds like a deal that if you were not having fun and rocking with the band, you would get the band to come to you and behead you. This is another one of those bands that do not have a care in the world for American appeal, and are sticking to their guns. The guitar riffs and drum beats do not need translation, they just sound devastating. This band sounds like they are very inspired by a live setting and play their hearts out. I have to say this is the best live record I have heard in a very long time. This cd will inspire non fans to seek out this band and what they offer.

9 out of 10