Metal Review: Imprecation | Satanae Tenebris Infinita (2013)

Imprecation Satanae Tenebris Infinita

Purchase Imprecation Satanae Tenebris Infinita

Early 1990s Texas death metal pioneers Imprecation have risen from the grave to release their first full-length release. Since their inception in 1991, they have released a few acclaimed demos and an EP followed by a compilation of material in 1995 titled “Theurgia Goetia Summa.” After that point, they went on a hiatus until 2009.

On June 25, 2013, we get their latest effort, “Satanae Tenebris Infinita,” which is not much of a departure from their early work, but sounds as fresh as it should.

Hosanna Ex Inferis is a wicked song with dirty, sludgy guitar tones. It starts innocently enough with a slow grind until about a minute in when Imprecation pushes their foot down on the pedal and does not let go. There are quite a few riffs that are heavy as hell in this one.

Another standout is Angel of Salvation’s Doom with its pure death metal riffs and ability to switch gears at will without sacrificing the song. There is also some really nice solo guitar work in this one as well.

Overall, “Satanae Tenebris Infinita” is as solid as any death metal release that I have heard in the last few years and Imprecation has shown that they still have what it takes to inspire other death metal bands. Imprecation knows when to hit the gas and when to keep it at a doom pace.

Satanae Tenebris Infinita Track Listing:
1. Blood Dominion
2. From Beyond the Fiery Temples
3. Hosanna Ex Inferis
4. Angel of Salvation’s Doom
5. The Coils of Eden
6. Chapel of Rotting Flesh
7. Rancid Blood on Blackened Thorns
8. Of the Black Earth
9. Carrion Winds of Golgotha

Imprecation Line-up:
Ruben Elizondo (drums, keyboards)
Dave Herrera (vocals)
Danny Hiller (guitar)
Milton Luna (guitar)
David Ramirez (bass)