Metal Review: Finntroll | Blodsvept (2013)

Finntroll Blodsvept

Purchase Finntroll Blodsvept

Finland’s folk metal pioneers Finntroll is back with their laresr release entitled “Blodsvept,” and they are out for blood once again. As you would expect from these veterans, their albums are always chock full of stories of mythological creatures and Finnish folklore. It has been this way since their inception in 1997. With “Blodsvept,” we get no less of those fantastic stories told in a way that only Finntroll can make work.

I am not a big fan of folk metal by any stretch of the imagination. Sometimes it just goes way over the top, but Finntroll has always done it right to where the folk is there and the aura is there, but the cheesiness is not. Songs like Mordminnen open with pure folk riffs and others like När Jättar Marschera intertwine these elements into the break of songs, but always manage to stay true to pure metal. And speaking of Mordminnen, it is almost a silly song of sorts, but is so jamming that you have to bang your head.

The main thing of note about “Blodsvept” is that it is not as heavy as prior releases. Gone are the black metal elements of past and are replaced with many more melodic tones, but it does work very well here.

Overall, there is not many weak spots on “Blodsvept,” and it is definitely worthy of a spot in your collection. Cheers to Finntroll once again.

Blodsvept Track Listing:
1. Blodsvept
2. Ett Folk Förbannat
3. När Jättar Marschera
4. Mordminnen
5. Rösets Kung
6. Skövlarens Död
7. Skogsdotter
8. Häxbrygd
9. Två Ormar
10. Fanskapsfylld
11. Midvinterdraken