Saxon | Sacrifice (2013) Review

Saxon Sacrifice

Purchase Saxon Sacrifice

Forever to be known as one of the lesser bands in the NWoBHM scene, Saxon is back with their 19th studio album entitled “Sacrifice,” and with it, they are bringing a new edge to their sound. Their sound is much heavier including an almost thrash metal sound to this effort.

After a brief introduction to the album, we are led into the title track Sacrifice. Right off the bat, you hear the difference in their sound and attitude. The guitars have a nice tone and the riffs are very tight. Sacrifice becomes one of the standouts on the album rather quickly.

Other tracks like Warriors of the Road focus on speed and intensity and just fire on all cylinders. Biff Byford’s vocals are even edgier when the speed ramps up. He sounds good singing over some ballsy music.

Tracks like Guardians of the Tomb sound more like classic Saxon with that added edge and work very well. The chorus is still formulaic and repetitive, but the overall song makes up for some lackluster moments.

Of course, we still have the filler songs like the uber-lame Made in Belfast with its horrible chorus and lyrics. Listening to that song reminds me of why Saxon is in the position they are in. With so many really good songs, they still find a way to rush songs onto releases and with a running time of under 40 minutes, the album does feel rushed.

Overall though, “Sacrifice” is a major win for Saxon and I think that existing fans will enjoy it as well as new fans. After 19 albums, it is very nice to see Saxon deliver great results.

Sacrifice Track Listing:
1. Procession
2. Sacrifice
3. Made in Belfast
4. Warriors of the Road
5. Guardians of the Tomb
6. Stand Up and Fight
7. Walking the Steel
8. Night of the Wolf
9. Wheels of Terror
10. Standing in a Queue

Saxon Line-up:
Biff Byford – Vocals
Paul Quinn – Guitars
Doug Scarratt – Guitars
Nibbs Carter – Bass
Nigel Glockler – Drums