Music Review-Alpha Tiger – Beneath the Surface


1. Intro
2. The Alliance
3. From Outer Space
4. Waiting For A Sign
5. Beneath The Surface
6. Along The Rising Sun
7. Eden Lies in Ruins
8. Rain
9. Crescent Moon
10. We Came From The Gutter

Stephan Dietrich – Lead Vocals
Peter Langforth – Lead Guitar
Alexander Backasch – Lead Guitar
Dirk Frei – Bass
David Schleif – Drums

Review-It has been a little while since we heard from Alpha Tiger and while Men or Machine was a hit and miss affair to me, I am glad to see that the absence from the scene has made this band more passionate and really determined. The lead off track alone blows away the whole last cd, and it shows that this band is out to be taken serious. The riffs soar like classic Armored Saint mixed with Accept and throw in the vintage vocal sounds of Stephan who sounds like he was inspired by Rage for Order Queensryche, Midnight from Crimson Glory and Lizzy Borden. For old school metal fans like me, this song gets you ready for what is coming with this record, just catchy and crunchy riffs with vocals that recall music from the 80’s. Then we go into the next track which is called From Outer Space which sounds like it was the mid 80’s again, with those over the top vocals that we all became fans of bands like Queensryche for. That is what this cd offers, that fans are hoping comes out of either Queensryche camp upcoming. Waiting for a sign, starts off with this little ballad feel with the acoustic guitar and a vocal delivery that almost feels like Vinnie Vincent Invasion Love Kills, and then busts out a sound that would make Iron Maiden blush.

As this cd goes on the cd starts to get more complex with its sound and delivery, and focuses more on deeper material and showcasing that this band is more than some novelty act. The selling point to this band is the vocals, and how the band respects his range and delivery and gives you a sound landscape for him to devour and really delivers something different each track that keeps you wanting to listen and gets you addicted with its catchiness and also its respect of yesteryear and trying to infuse it in a today’s mindset. The big negative to this cd is nothing wrong with the band or music, but the thought that if this band can pull this off why can’t the bands who they were inspired by still put this kind of music out? All in all, if you are a diehard old school metal fan, you will love this record. What a cool comeback record.

8.5 out of 10