F.K.Ü. | 4: Rise of the Mosh Mongers (2013) Review

F.K.U. 4 Rise of the Mosh Mongers

Purchase F.K.U. 4 Rise of the Mosh Mongers

Sweden’s horror/thrash metal F.K.Ãœ. are back with their release of “4: Rise of the Mosh Mongers.” F.K.Ãœ. does not reinvent the proverbial wheel, nor do they try to, and I am just fine with that. Sometimes, you just need a sloppy Big Mac instead of dining on filet mignon. That is how I feel with a lot of these retro-thrash metal bands. I still reach back for classic thrash albums from the 80s and 90s all of the time and that is because they rock. Do I care that many of these bands stuck to their formula? No.

With “4: Rise of the Mosh Mongers,” F.K.Ãœ. sticks to a basic formula that works throughout the entire release. The songs are fast and short and grab you by the balls quickly. Larry Lethal’s lead vocals are serviceable for what he needs to do although some of the high notes sound rather uncomfortable. Pete Stooaahl’s guitar work shines through the entire album. He has a sharp tone that cuts through each song.

Songs like Scream Bloody Mosher stand out based on the riffs for the most part, but Scream Bloody Mosher also has a very nice, catchy chorus getting the backing vocals into the swing of things. This is a pure moshing song with an appropriate breakdown to enforce that notion. At the Mountains of Madness is another track that grooves hard with its solid riffwork and includes more backing vocals that work for the chorus.

More often though, the album has songs like Esox Lucius, which hit the pedal to the metal from start to finish without ever letting go. The razor sharp riffs cut and dice through these songs, and before you know what is going on, the song is over and you are into the next track.

Overall, F.K.Ãœ. has a very successful release with “4: Rise of the Mosh Mongers” that should be checked out. You will not be amazed by groundbreaking lyrics, but you will get your thrash metal fill of sharp riffs.

4: Rise of the Mosh Mongers Track Listing:
1.     Moshocalypse Now
2.     Rise of the Mosh Mongers
3.     Black Hole Hell
4.     Cannibal Detox
5.     The Überslasher Pt. 1
6.     Scream Bloody Mosher
7.     Esox Lucius
8.     The Überslasher Pt. 2
9.     At the Mountains of Madness
10.     A Nightmare Made Thrash
11.     112 Ocean Avenue
12.     The Überslasher Pt. 3
13.     Marz Attacks
14.     Terror Train
15.     The Überslasher Pt. 4
16.     They Feed in the Dark
17.     Anthem of the Moshoholics
18.     We´re Evil (Digital Bonus Track)

F.K.Ü. Line-up:
Pat Splat – Bass, Vocals (backing)
Dr. Ted Killer Miller – Drums, Vocals (backing)
Pete Stooaahl – Guitars, Vocals (backing)
Larry Lethal – Vocals (lead)