Metal Review: Pathogen – Miscreants of Bloodlusting Aberrations (2013)

Pathogen - Miscreants of Bloodlusting Aberrations (2013)San Pablo, Philippines-based death metal squad Pathogen is now offering “Miscreants of Bloodlusting Aberrations” for a March 1, 2013 release date. The release was previously available on tape-only in 2009. I am happy to see this one get a proper release now, because it is a dark, somber, uncompromising death metal feast fit for the darkest of souls.

With only eight tracks of average length, it is not the longest of albums, but with what we are given, we can be happy about. The song is primarily old school death metal with some hints of classic thrash metal as well. Songs like Monolith have that old school Slayer feel to it in both the riffs and leads work.

Willie Desamero’s grating, death growl offering a nice edge to the songs on this album and merge quite well with the guitar work by Desamero and Jervish Alcos. Songs like Abyss of Perpetual Upheaval are gritty and dark with some well-placed lead work scattered throughout. Of course, if you want fast, Miscreants of Bloodlusting Aberrations offers that up as well. Ideological Strife is a speedy little number that still remains as dark as possible while adding that extra level of chaos.

Overall, while it will not resonate with everyone, Pathogen’s Miscreants of Bloodlusting Aberrations os a nice release that should be added to any death metal collection.

Miscreants of Bloodlusting Aberrations Track Listing:
01. Atrocity Exhibit
02. Monolith
03. Heretical Wisdom
04. Abyss of Perpetual Upheaval
05. Ideological Strife
06. Leviathan
07. Afterlife (SACRIFICE cover)
08. Uranium Messiah

Pathogen Line-up:
Nino Jerome Aranza – Bass
Vic Jarlego – Drums
Jervish Alcos – Guitars
Willie Desamero – Vocals/Guitars