Metal Review: Fiends at Feast – Towards the Baphomet’s Throne (2013)

Fiends at Feast - Towards the Baphomet's Throne (2013)Hailing from the blistering ice caps of … sunny California comes the debut full-length release from black metal band Fiends at Feast. “Towards the Baphomet’s Throne” is the follow-up to their debut EP “Shadows of Extinction,” which is not an easy find since it was only available at their shows. It was self-produced, but you could hear something special in there. My main criticism of it was the production value, and with the release of “Towards the Baphomet’s Throne,” they have remedied that.

I am a huge traditional black metal fan, but have the ability to also enjoy various sub genres that take black metal a step further. It does not always have to be raw for it to work and Fiends at Feast are showing that. Take a listen to With Blood and Vomit and you will see that Fiends at Feast has a little more to offer. The riffs are memorable and the leads are nicely integrated into each song. Of course, you still have the gritty, raw vocals and blastbeats galore. I would go as far to say that drummer Marloc is one hell of a solid drummer.

There are so many highlights to the album. Walls of Worship is a stunning song that is very riff-centric while From Hell They Rise is a more traditional, atmospheric type of song with no shortage of riffs either.

Overall, Fiends at Feast is becoming something very special and they should not be missed.

Towards the Baphomet’s Throne Track Listing:
01. Intro
02. After the Gates of Hell
03. With Blood and Vomit
04. I am Death
05. Walls of Worship
06. From Hell They Rise
07. A Despondent Theme to Thyy Own Demise
08. Hedonistic Heresy
09. Profecia Negra
10. Cold Grey Sky

Fiends at Feast Line-up:
Loki – Vocals
Sammer – Lead, Rhythm Guitars
David – Lead, Rhythm Guitars
Marloc – Drums
Nathan – Bass