Music Review-Voivod-Target Earth


01. Target Earth
02. Kluskap O’Kom
03. Empathy for the Enemy
04. Mechanical Mind
05. Warchaic
06. Resistance
07. Kaleidos
08. Corps Étranger
09. Artefact
10. Defiance

Denis “Snake” Bélanger – Vocals
Daniel “Chewy” Mongrain – Guitar
Jean-Yves “Blacky” Thériault – Bass
Michel “Away” Langevin – Drums

Review-I been a huge Voivod fan since the 80’s when I first Dimension Hatross. I think Nothingface for them while it was a very solid record, was also a cd they always seem to try and reduplicate with each release since then. In the 90’s, when Snake left the band to be a chef, Eric Forrest came in and made the band something very different that fans like me were waiting for and we did not get with Angel Rat and The Outer Limits releases. Well in 2003, Forrest was long gone and Snake came back in the band at the time he brought ex Metallica bassist Jason Newstead with him. Well, since this we have had several other releases that see Voivod going back to the same thing they were before Snake bailed the first time, as a band that seems to want to relive the success off of a cd. Now, that being said I will be honest I was not honestly stoked about the new cd, like most diehards seem to be. But, after listening to this I am proud to say this is the best stuff they have done since Eric left, and may also be par with what Eric did. Snake seems reborn and hungry again; this cd seems to take a lot of hints of War and Pain and mixes it with Killing Technology. Maybe it was the addition of Chewy on guitar that seems to come across as so aggressive and very hungry, and gives Voivod some heavy depth to the music.

Maybe it was Snake wanting to show people he is still a great singer and that he can compete with today’s talented voices. Maybe it was a band that has something to prove, and wanted to show fans that they should be in the mouth when talk of legendary metal bands is being discussed. Now, that being said if you were not a Voivod fan before, you will not convert on this cd. But, if you were a fan in the past and was sick of hearing the same old stuff from them and thought they have nothing else to give you, you may want to listen to this cd and fall back in love with the band. This cd has no filler, and all the songs are pretty solid for the most part, songs like Resistance, Kaleidos and Defiance are the weaker songs on here, but they are still better than anything they have done in a while. Warchaic shows that Voivod can still be the space age alternative metal band that tries to fuse so many different styles and incorporate a sound that just goes beyond the cd. This is a band that is just so ready to make a statement in 2013, and this seems to be the record that can do it.

8 out of 10