Metal Review: Enshadowed – Magic Chaos Psychedelia (2013)

Enshadowed - Magic Chaos Psychedelia (2013)Greek black metal band Enshadowed is doing something that a lot of people are not these days (for better or worse). They are taking black metal and updating it. Many people would scream bloody murder at a sacrilegious act like this, but let’s look at it with an open mind. My take on music has always been that if you do not like it, do not listen to it. I have never been a hater without listening to a band and I have never shunned a band for doing something out of the box. I may not like it, but I will listen to it nonetheless.

With the February 19, 2013 release of Magic Chaos Psychedelia through Pulverized Records, Enshadowed is back with their first full-length release since “Intensity” from 2003 through Black Lotus Records.

On to “Magic Chaos Psychedelia” itself. The album has so many elements to it that you almost want to break the album apart into chapters.  The album is brutal in so many ways with the last third adding in a layer of depth with very ambitious compositions and being the most atmospheric tracks on the album. Enshadowed pushes themselves to the brink with “Magic Chaos Psychedelia” by doing so much more than we would expect.

Overall, while “Magic Chaos Psychedelia” is not perfect, it is a very nice release and one that gets me excited for 2013 in general and Enshadowed more specifically.

Magic Chaos Psychedelia Track Listing:
1. Stary Throne of It
2. Is Venit Ex Abyssus
3. Black Holes, Death Planets
4. The Scenario
5. Surrealistic Shade of Color Black
6. Dethroned
7. Inner Psy-Trip
8. The Dual Hypostasis of Nihil
9. Magic Chaos Psychedelia