Metal Review: Devourment – Conceived in Sewage (2013)

Devourment - Conceived in Sewage (2013)Devourment is in one of those subgenres of death metal that seems to be an acquired taste. I have to admit that I am not a fan of many of the brutal death metal bands with extremely low guttural vocals, but I have no issues with overcoming that with their latest effort, Conceived in Sewage. Devourment is brutal – there is no doubt about it. From the song titles alone, you can see that they mean business.

Track after track on Conceived in Sewage, Devourment hits you with riff after riff of insanity. Ruben Rosas’ have a thick, chunky tone that is missing on a lot of death metal bands these days and there is no denying that the rest of the band is up to par with him. One of the best examples of his tone can be heard on the brief instrumental interlude March to Megiddo. It is one of those tracks where there is less chaos and the drums are more subdued.

The vocals tracks are very solid as well. Mike Majewski’s never detract from any of the songs. I would prefer them to be a little louder in the mix, but that is the style that they have chosen, so we either accept it or we do not. I choose to accept it.

The main problem with Conceived in Sewage though starts after the fifth track. The monotony starts to sink in and you begin to get bored. That is not to say that all of the later tracks are weak, but it seems as if I have to take Devourment in small doses. This is probably an issue that I have and most people will not feel the same when listening to Devourment.

Conceived in Sewage Track Listing:
01. Legalize Homicide
02. Fifty Ton War Machine
03. Conceived in Sewage
04. Fucked With Rats
05. March to Megiddo
06. Today We Die, Tomorrow We Kill
07. Heaving Acid
08. Carved Into Ecstasy
09. Parasitic Eruption

Devourment Line-up:
Mike Majewski – vocals
Ruben Rosas – guitar
Erik Park – drums
Chris Andrews – bass