Metal Review: Sinister – The Carnage Ending (2012)

Sinister - The Carnage Ending (2012)Dutch death metal veterans Sinister know what they want, and they do it with each passing release. With the modernization of death metal in recent times, which sometimes make death metal not even sound like death metal anymore, we thankfully have veteran acts like Sinister that know how to deliver old school death metal the right way. While they suffer some of the same issues that bands of this ilk do, such as songs bleeding into each other, Sinister delivers with a precision that not many death metal bands can.

Sinister always seems to be in control of their music. They know when to push the pedal to the metal and they know when to ease into their controlled, aggressive style of play. With the release of The Carnage Ending, Sinister seems ready to take back what they left in the 90s when they were death metal giants. The Carnage Ending is no slouch of a release.

From track to track, Sinister simply brings it like a bulldozer going about its business. The riffs are endless while the rest of the band just knows how to do what they do. Toep Duin’s drum work is in rare form on this release. The blast beats are intense and almost seem never ending.

Sinister is intent is remaining relevant to the death metal community, but to me, they never stopped being relevant. Even before their reunion, you could hear traces of these veterans in their peers’ work.

The Carnage Ending Track Listing:
1. Gates of Bloodshed
2. Unheavenly Domain
3. Transylvania (City of the Damned)
4. My Casual Enemy
5. Crown of Thorns
6. The Carnage Ending
7. Oath of Rebirth
8. Regarding the Imagery
9. Blood Ecstasy
10. Defamatory Content
11. The Final Destroyer

[Digipak Bonus]

01. Spit on Your Grave [Whiplash Cover]
02. Succubus [Massacre Cover]
03. Swing of the Axe [Possessed Cover]
04. Dethroned Emperor [Celtic Frost Cover]
05. Face Fate [Bloodfeast Cover]

Sinister Line-up:
Adrie Kloosterwaard – Vocals
Dennis Hartog – Guitars
Batiaan Brussaard – Guitars
Mathijs Brussaard – Bass
Toep Duin – Drums