Metal Review: Anger as Art – Hubris Inc. (2013)

Anger as Art - Hubris Inc. (2013)Being released on February 5, 2013 via Old School Metal Records, thrash metal band Anger as Art’s fourth release, Hubris Inc., is trying to make an impact on the old school thrash metal scene. Loaded with 14 tracks and guest appearances from thrash veterans including Jim Durkin (Dark Angel), Mark Caro (Abattoir), Timothy Gaines (Stryper) and Betsy Bitch, Anger as Art is intent on making its mark on thrash metal. Anger as Art’s founder Steve Gaines (Abattoir, Bloodlust, Tactics, Bitch, Dreams of Damnation, Pagan War Machine) has assembled a varied cast of characters on this release.

As far as the album itself goes, it is not bad, but some of the guest appearances fall flat and add nothing to the release, the biggest of which is Betsy Bitch’s vocals. I was never a fan of her vocals anyway, so this performance does not shock me, but it really deters from anything positive that the track tries to do.

As with most thrash releases, you judge it by the riffs and the vocals, and while Steve Gaines’ vocals do not do anything for me, the riffs are not to be doubted. Whether the guitar tandem of Gaines and Danny Oliverio are playing intertwined melodic pieces of pure thrash riffs, they execute their part with a sharpness that is not heard too often with most thrash bands these days.

Overall, Hubris Inc. is a decent release, but not one that I will go back to very often. The performances are solid enough, but not enough to hold this all together as a masterpiece. I will add that anytime I get to name drop Dark Angel, I am a happy man.

Hubris Inc. Track Listing:
1. Hubris Inc.
2. Time Devours Life
3. Gods of Hate
4. Anger is the Reason
5. Speed Kills
6. This is why I Hate
7. As the Exalted Seethe
8. Pearls Before the Swine
9. Divided We Fall
10. Head of the Snake
11. The Evil you Create
12. Pieces of Red
13. Rage and Retribution
14. Never Forgive Never Forget

Anger as Art Line-up:
Rob Alaniz     Drums
Danny Oliverio     Guitars, Vocals
Steve Gaines     Vocals, Guitars
Angelo Espino     Bass