Music Review-The Secret-Agnus Dei

1. Agnus Dei
2. May God damn all of us
3. Violent Infection
4. Geometric Power
5. Post Mortem Nihil Est
6. Daily Lies
7. Love Your Enemy
8. Vermin of dust
9. Darkness I Became
10. Heretic Temple
11. The Bottomless Pit
12. Obscure Dogma
13. Seven billion graves

Review-The 4th cd by The Secret, wastes no time pummeling you into oblivion. At 13 songs and 43 minutes, this cd attacks you and does not stop; now it gives you little moments here and there to breathe for a second, but then it pummels you harder and harder. This cd starts off with the title track Agnus Dei, and the second it opens with a little spoken word piece that just seems to piss this band off when they finally kick in, is just so hard hitting and fast that I felt I was the victim of a very brutal shark attack, the earth started to shake and hell came from the skies. If you think metal is dead, this cd is going to fuck up your world. The next two songs May God Damn us All of Us and Violent Infection are both over a minute each and both are violent hate filled attacks that are as heavy as fuck that you will not be able to turn it off. This cd has screaming, growls and riffs from every direction, and the blast beats from another planet. This is the most violent cd of the year; this cd wants to rip you apart and just fuck your eardrums with constant hardcore sludge doom metal. Produced by Converge’s Kurt Ballou and released by Greg Anderson’s Southern Lord label, this is exactly the winning formula for a cd that is going to get fans talking.

The Secret have fired on all cylinders on Agnus Dei. They seem to have created a cd that combines the darkest hardcore with the angriest and fucking brutal metal. This cd upon the first few listens seems to really come together in terms of a band that really wants to put their name and stamp on 2012. This is just a straight ahead sonic attack that after listening to it, you are either going to be inspired to go start a riot or play it over again louder. I want to think this cd for 2012, will get a lot of people talking and wanting to check them out, this is a talented band and this cd could convert non fans or fans who did not like their previous works to give them another shot.

8.5 out of 10