Metal Review: Marduk – Serpent Sermon (2012)

Marduk - Serpent SermonSwedish black metal giants Marduk are back after the war-themed Iron Dawn EP, which got blasted by a lot of people. For me, Iron Dawn was a nice change of pace and very exciting. For others, not so much.

With their latest release, Serpent Sermon, Marduk are back to their black metal roots more in the style of Wormwood, which should make a lot of people happy. I cannot say that I care either way, because I like both of the styles that they brought to the table.

The album opens up with the title track, Serpent Sermon, and you pretty much know what you are getting into with Marduk. Mortuus’ growls are as sharp as ever and the riffs are as heavy as ever. The blast beats thump inside of your chest.

After the title track, we slip into Messianic Pestilence, which is chaos personified in the musical form. While tough to digest in one sitting, it is a musical dirge that grows on you with more listens. Give it a shot, because you just may hate it after one listen. Souls for Belial is pulled from the lowest depths of hell (quite possibly literally). The opening is downright evil and once the tempo hits, the chaos begins.

Over the next tracks on the album, we get more of what we expect from Marduk, which is to attempt their domination of the black metal genre of modern day. Not many bands bring it like they do.

Overall, while I enjoy the album quite a bit, it does begin to get repetitive and has some borderline annoying guitar parts that feel so out of place.

Serpent Sermon Track Listing:
1. Serpent Sermon (4:38)
2. Messianic Pestilence (2:50)
3. Souls For Belial (4:45)
4. Into Second Death (5:11)
5. Temple Of Decay (5:25)
6. Damnation’s Gold (6:48)
7. Hail Mary (Piss-Soaked Genuflexion) (3:27)
8. M.A.M.M.O.N. (3:29)
9. Gospel Of The Worm (2:37)
10. World Of Blades (7:09)