Metal Review – The Rotted – Ad Nauseam (2011)

The Rotted - Ad NauseamTake vocalist Ben McCrow and guitarist Tim Carley from death grind band Gorerotted and add bassist Reverend Trudgill and drummer Nate Gould from Screamin’ Daemon and here you have The Rotted, which is a mix of those two bands pretty much down the middle. What you end up with are come heavy, catchy three minute tracks on their latest release, Ad Nauseam.

The album starts off strong as hell with Anarchogram Sun. Just listen to that bass tone and you will see what I mean. It is just intense. The next track is Rex Oblivione, and the intensity gets kicked up about ten notches. Surrounded By Skulls quickly follows and keeps that intensity up while creating a little catchy number. There is a very sweet breakdown in the middle of this one too.

For the remainder of the album, there is not much in the way of variety, but sometimes that is a good thing. The album seems to know what is wants to do and just goes in one direction to get to that point.

Overall, I was pleasantly surprised with Ad Nauseam. I expected a bunch of quick-hit tracks with not much depth once I saw the song lengths, but even being as short as they are, the songs are still solid and slightly complex. Every once in a while, you just need to eat a sloppy Big Mac and that is something that I would compare The Rotted’s latest release, Ad Nauseum, to.

In early 2008 The Rotted rose from two already dead UK bands. Vocalist Ben McCrow and guitarist Tim Carley ( the two main men behind death grinders Gorerotted) were joined by bass player Reverend Trudgill and drummer Nate Gould (both previously of blackened murder metal loonies Screamin’ Daemon). The debut album Get Dead Or Die Trying (Metal Blade Records) hit stores in July of the same year.  Produced by Russ Russell (Evile, Napalm Death, Dimmu Borgir, Lock-Up) and engineered by James Dunkley (Blaze Bailey, Crowbar), Get Dead… has received fantastic reviews across the metal press.  Two years of intense UK and European touring followed the album release with festival highlights including Wacken Open Air 2008, Summer Breeze 2008, Dynamo 2008, Elsrock 2008, Vlamrock 2008, Bloodstock 2009, Hammerfest 2009, Headbangers festival 2009 and Hellfire festival 2009.  In 2009 a video was shot for the album track ‘Nothin’ But A Nosebleed’ and has been a regular fixture on England’s Scuzz TV and other channels.  July 2010 saw The Rotted back in the studio with James Dunkley and the band release Anarchogram, a self-funded, self-released EP.  Anarchogram featured two new songs and four bonus covers; each member of The Rotted chose a track that inspired them to play.  More intense touring followed the ep, the most recent being a hugely successful 27-date European tour with Grave and Misery Index.  The Rotted also took park in a joint headline UK tour with Man Must Die (Relapse) in July 2010 and one off UK shows with Napalm Death, Bolt Thrower and Onslaught during Spring and Summer 2010.  December 2010 saw The Rotted hit the UK again for a run of headline shows as well as jetting out to Israel to headline shows in Tel-Aviv, Jerusalem and Haifa.

Ad Nauseam Track Listing:
1. Anarchogram Sun
2. Rex Oblivione
3. Surrounded By Skulls
4. Non Serviam
5. Just Add Nauseam
6. Entering The Arena Of The Unwell
7. The House Of Bedlam
8. Apathy In The UK
9. Motorbastards
10. The Hammer Of Witches
11. Put Me Out Of Your Misery