Metal Review – Minushuman – Bloodthrone (2011)

Minushuman - BloodthroneFrance is becoming the new Sweden these days when it comes to fresh metal bands. From bands like Alcest, Gojira, Deathspell Omega and more to now Minushuman. The bands calls themselves atmospheric thrash metal, but I am not so sure that is an appropriate enough label. Yes, they are atmospheric, but they are much more than just thrash. They incorporate so many other styles of metal that they are doing themselves an injustice pigeonholing themselves like that.

I really hope to see Minushuman get the acclaim that they deserve from this release because Bloodthrone is a way better than average release that needs all of the exposure that it can get to get it noticed. I think that a lot of people will be pleasantly surprised by this one.

Minuswho? MINUSHUMAN – a name to be remembered! “Bloodthrone” is one of these rare musical surprises sticking out of a miasma of drab releases flooding the desks of editors and reviewers every month. The French hit the international Metal community with a masterpiece that combines relentless drive, sparkling melodies and crunchy aggression into a collection of songs that only knows killers, but no fillers. The emotion laden “Bloodthrone” seems to rise to perfection out of nowhere, when in truth MINUSHUMAN have already been around before their founding during the year 2007 in the beautiful Aquitaine town Bergerac. Under their first moniker DARK POETRY most members already crisscrossed their native France, sharing stages with groups like GOJIRA and SAMAEL and building up a diehard fan base. Restarting themselves as MINUSHUMAN their debut full-length “Watch The World Die” (2008) immediately gained critical acclaim and was compared to “ISIS meets MACHINEHEAD” with “groove-heavy sound… and slow-burning atmospheres”. An apt description that now needs to be updated with meticulous and catchy song writing as well as a rocking attitude. “Bloodthrone” easily bridges the gaps between Thrash, Death and Heavy Rock appealing to many different types of listeners. Minuswho? MINUSHUMAN – a name soon to be dearly loved by metalheads all over the world!

Minushuman Line-up:
Cédric Moïse: vocals
Thomas Billerey: lead guitars
Lionel Bouyroux: rhythm guitar
Gaspard Jeanty-Ruard: drums
Mickaël Desmarie: bass

Bloodthrone Track Listing:
1. The Architect (5:06)
2. The Size Of An Ocean (4:28)
3. Evolve (3:35)
4. The Day We Died (4:30)
5. Forgotten Fields (7:02)
6. Three Mile Island (4:24)
7. Godspeed (4:46)
8. Another All (4:17)
9. Bloodthrone (5:09)
10. Kill Me (5:52)