Metal Review – Hemoptysis – Misanthropic Slaughter (2011)

Hemoptysis - Misanthropic SlaughterThe explosive Phoenix, Arizona quartet Hemoptysis self-released Misanthropic Slaughter on March 8th this year. Sadly, I am just hearing about it now. Once I received the advance, I had to take a listen to see if the hype was warranted. I can tell you that this album is definitely no slouch. This seems to be the years of thrash metal throwbacks.

Think of a throwback to some older Kreator and you will see where Hemoptysis is going with their debut full-length release Misanthropic Slaughter. Melodic at times and utterly crushing at others, this album will fulfill much of your thrash needs. The riffs are explosive and the songs are written with technical elements in mind as well as with complete care to each element of the song.

My main beef with this album is the two distinct sides to some of the songs. Some songs are just done very well while some seem like filler songs that got written in the studio during recording. Listen to tracks like The Cycle show songs that are just spot on while others are not nearly as complete.

The album was produced by Grammy Award winning producer Ryan Greene (Megadeth, Authority Zero, NOFX) and features 11 blistering tracks of unrelenting metal intensity. The European version of Misanthropic Slaughter features a bonus video for Shadow of Death and is available through Rock It Up Records.

Misanthropic Slaughter Track Listing:
1. Misanthropic Slaughter
2. Hopeless
3. M.O.D.
4. Impending Doom
5. And The World Dies
6. Interlude
7. The Cycle
8. Blood Storm
9. Shadow Of Death
10. Hadephobia
11. End Of Sorrow