Metal Review – Haken – Visions (2011)

Haken - VisionsHaken is a progressive metal outfit that I was not aware of until I received the advance of their latest effort, Visions. I can honestly say that I will not be seeking out any more of their releases after this mess.

The album starts with an exceptional instrumental introduction which leads into some progressive elements. After that brief introduction to the album, come the vocals, and boy do they ever fall flat on vocals. Even during some of the vocal melodies there are some crushing riffs that make you want to really like the band, but the vocals completely detract from the music.

Think of a heavier Dream Theater with an even more progressive edge and worse vocals and that is what you have here. I can see a lot of people getting into this one, but not this guy. And before anyone thinks that I hate on all progressive metal bands, Nevermore and Opeth are two of my ton ten favorite bands.

Visions Track Listing:
1. Premonition
2. Nocturnal Conspiracy
3. Insomnia
4. The Mind’s Eye
5. Portals
6. Shapeshifter
7. Deathless
8. Visions

Haken Line-up / Musicians:
Ross Jennings – vocals
Diego Tejeida – keyboards
Richard “Hen” Henshall – guitar, keyboards
Charlie Griffiths – guitar
Raymond Hearne – drums
Tom MacLean – bass

London-based progressive stalwarts HAKEN have announced the details on their completed upcoming sophomore full-length concept album, entitled Visions.

This new opus is in its final stages of completion now , and is set for North American release on October 25 via Sensory Records — the label having also released HAKEN’s acclaimed 2010 debut, Aquarius. In a statement made this week about the new album, HAKEN vocalist Ross Jennings ensures: “We are confident this album will not disappoint fans of Aquarius. As well as pulling some signature stunts, we are also trying to raise the bar with our compositions, and as individual players. We poured everything we’ve got into this album; it’s been a really emotional year for us and hopefully that comes across in these songs.”

Visions will be made available early to fans in attendance at this year’s ProgPower USA festival in Atlanta, Georgia, on September 16th where HAKEN are set to make their North American debut live appearance alongside labelmates Creation’s End and Voyager, as well as Therion, Labyrinth, Ihsahn, Dream Evil, Sanctuary and more.

  • I wish that I liked it as much as you did. I really do. It just does not sit well with me though.

  • PJH

    A little harsh dear boy – this is an awesome album………..